843 - Treaty of Verdun

Posted by on in Timeline
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4810
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

The Treaty of Verdun establishes the eastern kingdom of the now divided Frankish empire as East Francia, the precursor to the Kingdom of Germany, the Holy Roman Empire, and eventually the modern state of Germany. The Alemannic territory of Alsace is not included, being assigned instead to the Middle Francia kingdom.

Image: West Francia (modern day France) in purple, Middle Francia (modern day Low Countries; Luxembourg; western Switzerland; Lorraine, Alsace, and the territories along the Rhone in France; and northern Italy) in green, and East Francia (modern day Germany, central and east Switzerland, and Austria) in yellow.

Image credit:


Rate this blog entry:
Alamanicus is wandering his old Alemanni haunts, revisiting the places where once he used to drink, carouse, and beat up the odd Roman legionnaire or two. Things have moved on since his day, and the old Alemanni country now lies across south west Germany, French Alsace, and northern Switzerland. Cut through by the mighty Rhine, it is an area of great beauty, and a lot has happened there since Alamanicus last walked this land.


  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, 26 May 2018

Trip Reports

Login With Facebook





Follow us on foursquare


Alamanicus To Go



Alamanicus posts some of his favourite images to 500px

Autumnal Glow in Müllheim, by Alamanicus on

Autumnal Glow in Müllheim by Alamanicus