1315 - Old Swiss Confederacy

Posted by on in Timeline
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4141
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

On 9th December 1315, having defeated an Habsburg army in the Battle of Morgarten the previous month, the three allied Swiss cantons of Uri, Schwyz, and Unterwalden sign the Pact of Brunnen, at the town of Brunnen (pictured) on the north east shore of Lake Lucerne, turning their alliance into a formal confederacy.

Known to history as the Old Swiss Confederacy, in less than 40 years the three become eight as the cities of Lucerne (in 1332), Zurich (1351), and Bern (1353), and the cantons of Glarus and Zug (1352) join the confederacy.

Rate this blog entry:
Alamanicus is wandering his old Alemanni haunts, revisiting the places where once he used to drink, carouse, and beat up the odd Roman legionnaire or two. Things have moved on since his day, and the old Alemanni country now lies across south west Germany, French Alsace, and northern Switzerland. Cut through by the mighty Rhine, it is an area of great beauty, and a lot has happened there since Alamanicus last walked this land.


  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, 26 May 2018

Trip Reports

Login With Facebook





Follow us on foursquare


Alamanicus To Go



Alamanicus posts some of his favourite images to 500px

Autumnal Glow in Müllheim, by Alamanicus on

Autumnal Glow in Müllheim by Alamanicus